3D DESIGN — SCULPTURE — INTERACTIVITY — NEW MEDIATION SYSTEMS 

Since 2018, spearheaded by the Département of the Isère region, the artist Pauline de Chalendar has worked on a new digital approach to works by the artists Rembrandt, Jongkind and Carpeaux through real-time interactive drawing. Come and discover the reinterpretation of the works by these famous artists thanks to innovative mediation processes.

 Discover Rembrandt via the pencil stroke 

In 2018, based on five etchings by Rembrandt chosen with the Glénat Fund for Creation and Heritage, Pauline de Chalendar completed a set of interactive drawings.  Produced simultaneously on paper and on a screen connected to a fixed display unit thanks to the Slate by ISKN, the drawings were incorporated into an interactive interface for tactile tablets developed with the company SIP Conseil. This system, visible at the Cabinet Rembrandt in Grenoble, enables visitors to in a few gestures reveal the lines of these drawings thanks to tactile browsing on the tablet.

 Discover Jongkind via color 

In 2019, Pauline de Chalendar captured the essence of three watercolours by Johan Barthold Jongkind on the occasion of a monographic exhibition at the Musée Hébert. This time the artist focused on the colour play and the transparency that is specific to water colour techniques. The lines and colours are revealed depending on the tactile browsing of the visitor and propose another way of reading the picture. The two-dimensional narrative drawing work creates a dialogue between digital tools and plastic arts.

L’Ébauchoir according to La Danse by Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux 

In 2020, with help from the PIRVI team at the CRIStAL Laboratory, Pauline de Chalendar is redirecting the new technology of augmented interaction by the Grenoble-based company ISKN in partnership with Bandai Namco. She is developing a tangible digital exploration tool that will make it possible to discover a 3D sketch, completed based on the high relief la Danse by Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux, by moving a virtual camera-object above a model. The sculpture is reinterpreted by the artist via the virtual reality sketch on the VAirDraw programme, and is then represented in a tangible interactive form that aims at harmonising the initial drawn gesture by Pauline de Chalendar with the spectator’s exploratory gesture.

Artist
Pauline de Chalendar, artiste visuelle 

Researchers
Samuel Degrande et Paul-Élian Tabarant – PIRVI du laboratoire CRIStAL (UMR 9189), Université de Lille, CNRS – Lille 

Associated company
ISKN, startup issue du CEA — SIP Conseil 

Partners
Hexagone Scène Nationale Arts Sciences – Atelier Arts Sciences PIRVI from the CRIStAL laboratory (UMR 9189), University of Lille, CNRS Musée Hébert – Conseil Départemental de l’Isère Glénat Fund for Heritage and création — With the participation of the IMAGINE, INRIA Grenoble research team

In Residency at the Atelier Arts Sciences

J'aime je partage !

DESSIN 3D — SCULPTURE — INTERACTIVITÉ — NOUVEAUX DISPOSITIFS D’ÉDUCATION ARTISTIQUE 

Depuis 2018, sous l’impulsion du Département de l’Isère, l’artiste Pauline de Chalendar a travaillé sur une nouvelle approche numérique des œuvres de Rembrandt, Jongkind et Carpeaux à travers le « dessin temporel » et interactif. Découvrez un nouveau cheminement dans les œuvres de ces artistes renommés à travers des dispositifs de médiation innovants !

 Découvrir Rembrandt par le trait 

En 2018, à partir de cinq gravures de Rembrandt choisies avec le Fonds Glénat pour le patrimoine et la création, Pauline de Chalendar a réalisé des dessins interactifs.  Exécutés simultanément sur papier et écran déporté grâce à la Slate d’ISKN, ces dessins ont été incorporés dans une interface interactive pour tablette tactile développée avec la société SIP Conseil. Ce dispositif visible au Cabinet Rembrandt à Grenoble permet au visiteur de dévoiler en quelques gestes les lignes de ces dessins grâce à la navigation tactile sur tablette !

 Découvrir Jongkind par la couleur 

En 2019, Pauline de Chalendar s’est emparée de trois aquarelles de Johan Barthold Jongkind à l’occasion d’une exposition monographique au Musée Hébert. Cette fois-ci elle s’est intéressée aux jeux de couleurs et de transparences propres à la technique de l’aquarelle. Les lignes et couleurs se dévoilent en fonction de la navigation tactile du visiteur et proposent une lecture de l’image. Ce travail de dessin narratif en deux dimensions fait dialoguer les outils numériques avec la peinture

L’Ébauchoir d’après La Danse de Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux 

En 2020, avec l’aide de l’équipe PIRVI du Laboratoire CRIStAL, Pauline de Chalendar détourne la nouvelle technologie d’interaction augmentée de la société grenobloise ISKN en partenariat avec Bandai Namco. Elle développe un dispositif d’exploration numérique qui permettra de découvrir un dessin 3D, réalisé d’après le haut-relief La Danse de Jean-Baptiste Carpeaux, en déplaçant un objet-caméra virtuel au-dessus d’une maquette. La sculpture est réinterprétée par l’artiste par le biais du dessin en réalité virtuelle sur le programme VAirDraw, puis est présentée sous une forme tangible et interactive qui vise à faire entrer en résonance le geste dessiné initial de Pauline de Chalendar avec le geste exploratoire du spectateur.

Artiste
Pauline de Chalendar, artiste visuelle 

Chercheurs
Samuel Degrande et Paul-Élian Tabarant – PIRVI du laboratoire CRIStAL (UMR 9189), Université de Lille, CNRS – Lille 

Entreprises associées
ISKN, startup issue du CEA — SIP Conseil 

Partenaires
Hexagone Scène Nationale Arts Sciences – Atelier Arts Sciences PIRVI du laboratoire CRIStAL (UMR 9189), Université de Lille, CNRS Musée Hébert – Conseil Départemental de l’Isère Fonds Glénat pour le patrimoine et la création — Avec la participation de l’équipe de recherche IMAGINE, INRIA Grenoble 

En résidence à l’Atelier Arts Sciences

J'aime je partage !